Skip to main content

Recent News

  • Professor Emerita Susan Wolf Wins the Lauener Prize

    Congratulations to Professor Emerita Susan Wolf who recently won the Lauener Prize! See the official announcement here.

  • Saying Goodbye to Geoff Brennan

    It is with profound soundness that the Department announces the death of our colleague and friend, Prof. Geoff Brennan.  Since January 2006, Geoff was a Research Professor at both UNC and Duke, where he served as a Core Faculty member … Continued

  • Sarah Stroud on the Ethics of Lying (Parr & TED-Ed)

    We are delighted to share the latest installment of the Parr Center’s Ethical Dilemma series with TED-Ed, this time on the ethics of lying with Center Director and UNC philosopher Sarah Stroud, found here. Check out the video’s supplemental educational … Continued

  • 2021-2022 Phi Beta Kappa inductees

    Congratulations to our newest philosophy major Phi Beta Kappa inductees! They are as follows: Fall 2021 Christina Barta, Katherine M. Leonard, Lucas K. Thornton, Emma M. Welter Spring 2022 Yixiao Jin, Tara Murray, Samuel S. Timmons, Noah R. Upchurch, Zhuofan … Continued

View All News

Diversity Statement

The non-discrimination policy of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill states that we are “committed to providing an inclusive and welcoming environment.” This applies to all students, faculty, staff, and visitors to our campus. The policy further states that the University does not “discriminate on the basis of age, color, disability, gender, gender expression, gender identity, genetic information, national origin, race, religion, sex, sexual orientation or veteran status.” The Department of Philosophy endorses this policy and opposes any attempt to weaken or undermine the University’s commitment to promoting diversity and equality.